47 spring student-athletes earn Academic All-OAC honors

47 spring student-athletes earn Academic All-OAC honors

OAC Release

AUSTINTOWN, Ohio -- Heidelberg University Athletics saw 47 spring student-athletes selected to the Academic All-OAC team for the 2019 season this morning. To be eligible for academic All-OAC status, a student-athlete must be of sophomore class standing or higher, maintain varsity status, and have a cumulative GPA of 3.50 for their work in the classroom.

The 47 selections are the most of a season this academic calendar year at Heidelberg.

Amidst the honorees, baseball led the way with 12 selections, softball was shortly behind with nine, women's lacrosse saw seven selected, men's and women's track each had five tabbed, women's golf had three honors, men's golf and women's tennis saw two selected, and men's tennis and men's lacrosse each earned one honoree.

Selected for baseball are seniors Zach Hunter, Brock Conner, Parker Fronk, and Kyle Psychas, juniors Johnny Medvec, Kyle Jenkins, Mark Ward, Stephen Currie, and Tyler Barker, and sophomores Eric Devore, Mac Spears, and Mason Metz. Hunter, Conner, Currie, and Jenkins are repeat selections for the award, while the other eight are first time honorees.

Softball's selections featured seniors Joanna Catalano, Morgan Daniels, and Becca Radabaugh, juniors Casey Moore, Kaitlyn Moore, Leah Bouillon, Kennedy Conney, and Shelby Miller, and sophomore Brooke Lewis. Lewis marks the only first-time selection of the nine honored.

Seniors Maureen Kelly, Naomi Smith, and Pree Bryant, juniors Bri Casement, Jenna Carman, and Alexa Hawk, and sophomore Jessica Ballow made up the seven selections for the women's lacrosse team. Bryant, Carman, and Casement are the only repeat selections for the award.

Selected for men's track are seniors Ben Gutzky, Eric Peterson, Justin Mourguet, Kenny Beucler, and Wes Fritz. All five are repeat honorees.

On the women's track team, seniors Alexandra Chakov and Alexia Page-Boyd and juniors Allison Schwarzbek, Haley Wulff, and Kelsey Grove were honored. Chakov marks the only first-time honoree of the five.

For women's golf, senior Megan Brugnone, junior Alexis Julien, and sophomore Autumn Simpson were selected. All three are first time selections.

On the men's golf team, senior Michael Schuller and junior Jaret Miller were selected. Miller is a repeat selection, while Schuller was a first-time honoree.

Honored from the women's tennis team include senior Jilian Goulet and junior Megan Novess. Both have been selected for the second straight year.

Rounding out the selections are junior men's lacrosse player Hunter Edwards and sophomore men's tennis player Kyle Alexander. Edwards is a repeat selection while Alexander is a first time nod.